Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying

  • The West Orange Board of Education prohibits acts of harassment, intimidation, or bullying of a student. A safe and civil environment in school is necessary for students to learn and achieve high academic standards. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying, like other disruptive or violent behaviors, is conduct that disrupts both a student’s ability to learn and a school’s ability to educate its students in a safe and disciplined environment. Harassment, intimidation, or bullying is unwanted, aggressive behavior that may involve a real or perceived power imbalance. Since students learn by example, school administrators, faculty, staff and volunteers should be commended for demonstrating appropriate behavior, treating others with civility and respect, and refusing to tolerate harassment, intimidation, or bullying.

    Board Policy 5512 Harassment, Intimidation and Bullying

    “Harassment, intimidation, or bullying” means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, as defined in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-14, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents that: is reasonably perceived as being motivated by either any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic; takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds, as provided for in N.J.S.A. 18A:37-15.3; and substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students; and that: a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, that the act(s) will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student’s property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his/her person or damage to his/her property; or has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

    District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

    Ms. Cheryl Butler
    Director of School Counseling K- 12/Student Services 
    West Orange Public Schools
    973-669-5400 x. 31611 / cbutler@westorangeschools.org

    Anti-Bullying Specialists

    Gregory Elementary School
    Mrs. Makeida Hewitt, Principal 
    973-669-5397 x. 21510 / mhewitt@westorangeschools.org

    Tara Donatiello, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5397 x. 21601 / tdonatiello@westorangeschools.org

    Hazel Elementary School
    Mr. Joel Castillo, Principal
    973-669-5448 x. 22510 / jcastillo@westorangeschools.org 

    Delisa Jackson, Anti-Bullying Specialist 
    973-669-5448 x. 22601 / djackson@westorangeschools.org

    Kelly Elementary School
    Mr. David Marion, Principal
    973-66-5452 x. 24510 / dmarion@westorangeschools.org

    Florence Chirichiello, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5452 x. 24601 / fchirichiello@westorangeschools.org 

    Mt. Pleasant Elementary School
    Mrs. Julie DiGiacomo, Principal
    973-669-5480 x. 23510 / jdigiacomo@westorangeschools.org

    Lisa Struncis, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5480 x. 23600 / lstruncis@westorangeschools.org

    Redwood Elementary School
    Kimya Jackson, Principal
    973-669-5457 x. 25510 / kjackson@westorangeschools.org

    Rebecca Buetel, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5457 x. 25601 / rbuetel@westorangeschools.org

    St. Cloud Elementary School
    Mr. Eric Price, Principal
    973-669-5393 x. 26510 / eprice@westorangeschools.org

    Sarah McIntosh, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5393 x. 26601 / smcintosh@westorangeschools.org

    Washington Elementary School
    Ms. Marie DeMaio, Principal
    973-669-5385 x. 27510 / mdemaio@westorangeschools.org

    Rene Wells, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5385 x. 27601 / rwells@westorangeschools.org

    Edison Middle School
    Mr. Xavier Fitzgerald, Principal
    973-669-5360 x. 28510 / xfitzgerald@westorangeschools.org 

    Jeff LaFoon, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5360 x. 28602 / jlafoon@westorangeschools.org

    Pamela Halstead, Anit-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5360 x. 28603 / phalstead@westorangeschools.org

    Liberty Middle School
    Mr. Xavier Fitzgerald, Acting Principal
    973-243-2007 x. 29510 / xfitzgerald@westorangeschools.org 

    Lauren Volpe, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-243-2007 x. 29603 / lvolpe@westorangeschools.or

    Stephanie Nesbitt, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-243-2007 x. 29601 / snesbitt@westorangeschools.org

    Roosevelt Middle School
    Mr. Lionel Hush, Principal
    973-669-5373 x. 30510 / lhush@westorangeschools.org

    Karen Peyragrosse, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5373 x. 30604 / kpeyragrosse@westorangeschools.org

    Taylor Welsh, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669- 5373 x. 30602 / twelsh@westorangeschools.org

    West Orange High School
    Mr. Lou Della Pia, Assistant Principal
    973-669-5301 x. 31515 / ldellapia@westorangeschools.org

    Dr. Lesley Chung, Assistant Principal
    973-669-5301 x. 31516 / lchung@westorangeschools.org

    Amedeo Chirichiello, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5301 x. 31552 / achirichiello@westorangeschools.org

    Jaclyn Headlam, Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5301 x. 31557 / jheadlam@westorangeschools.org

    Betty Maddalena Early Learning Center
    Ms. Constance Salimbeno, Principal/Anti-Bullying Specialist
    973-669-5400 x. 34510 / csalimbeno@westorangeschools.org

Last Modified on September 2, 2022