Return to Headlines

West Orange High School Senior Awards Night Distributes Scholarships Totaling Nearly $400,000

WEST ORANGE, NJ – West Orange High School held its annual Senior Awards Night on June 2, recognizing students for academic and athletic achievements, community service and more, and distributing scholarships totaling nearly $400,000.

The West Orange Scholarship Fund, overseeing several community scholarships, distributed a record $140,900 to 142 students. Formed in 1923, the Fund has to-date distributed $1.7 million in scholarships to graduating seniors.

The Fund oversees several large scholarships, including the Principal’s Scholarship, the CJ Morgan Foundation, The Nikhil Badlani Foundation (who provided scholarships to 24 students), and Officer Timothy Groves Scholarship. 

AFJROTC cadet Zander Lipsey, following in the footsteps of his brothers Marshall and Cade, received the Army Scholarship to attend Syracuse University with a value of $220,000.

In addition to the Fund, several other notable local scholarships were distributed, including UNICO and the West Orange Elks. The ceremony ended as Valedictorian Emily Liew and Salutatorian Valentina Pappano received their sashes for graduation.

“These scholarships will assist our students in their journey to college,” said Principal Hayden Moore.

“We are grateful to our community, groups, and organizations, for partnering with us to change lives.”

See all the photos from Senior Awards Night HERE.

See the list of Awards, Scholarships, and recipients HERE.

Senior Awards

Emily Liew, and Valentina Pappano.

Senior Awards Night

Principal Hayden Moore, Zander Lipsey, Maj. Joseph Marchesini.

Senior Awards

Frank Gonnella (UNICO) with scholarship recipients.

Senior Awards

Nikhil Badlani Scholarship recipients (Sunil Badlani, left, Sangeeta Badlani, right, with Principal Moore.)

Senior Awards

CJ Morgan Scholarship recipients with Chris Morgan, left, and Principal Moore, right.

Senior Awards

Principal's Scholarship recipients.

Senior Awards

Timothy Groves Scholarship recipients.





Cynthia Cumming
June 8, 2022